Movie: Star Trek Into Darkness

So today my friend and I decided to check out the movie: Star Trek Into Darkness. I was a fan of the Star Trek franchise since JJ Abrams released his first one. I’ve never seen the old TV series but I can imagine it to be extremely exciting if I were to be living in the 1960s, with all the space race and NASA development. Now fast forward 50 years later, it’s amazing how the Star Trek franchise hasn’t lost its shine for one bit.

I’ve always been a big JJ Abrams fan. From his famous TV shows Lost, Fringe to movies like Super 8, Armageddon, I’ve always admired his talent and ability to materialize his idea of the outer space, create such complex screenplays to maintain that high level of intensity and enticement among the audience.

The first of the Star Trek movie was so good that I thought this one wouldn’t and couldn’t top it. But I was pleasantly surprised.

With this movie, one of the things that I loved about it was the visual effects of course. The signature JJ Abrams glare in almost all his scifi creations was unmistakably the icing on the cake. The way Enterprise rose from the ocean in the opening was just impeccable and left me in awe long after.

And let’s not forget the friendship depicted between Kirk and Spock. One ever so compulsive and trusts only his gut-feeling, the other judges everything by reason and logic. They’re like the yin and yang; one completes the other, and in modern terms urban dictionary, there’s definitely some major hot-human-alien-bromances going on, which I don’t mind watching at all. (Um, yes, just keep them comin’)

BUT, there are parts of the movie that I wish it didn’t happen or I wish it could have been delivered better. There were times when I thought I was watching The Transformers, especially when General Markus came on and did all the introduction about John Harrison (aka Khan) and the military invasion with the new Torpedos. I felt like that was a bit familiar and something I’ve seen before, with the same kind of lines and same kind of plot. The way it was presented was not interesting enough and I felt like it could have been handled better. The other thing I didn’t like was how Benedict Cumberbatch played John Harrison, he could have done better in my opinion. I understand why he acted all robotic when he delivered his lines, but I thought he wasn’t robotic enough. It was just kind of in the middle and wasn’t convincing enough. So I wasn’t sure what exactly was he trying to do – a human looking robot/alien? Or a robot-looking human? Not sure… One could argue he was trying to modernize Khan I suppose.

However, there was one character that stood out to me – Scott. Coincidentally, Scott had a Scottish accent, which I thought was hilarious and everytime he comes on, it was almost like a comic relief and I wish he could have a little more airtime. And because he did have a pivotal role near the end of the movie, I found myself holding my hands together hoping so hard that he wouldn’t die off.

And as most blockbusters will have it, there has to be some form of nudity/ sexual scenes. There’s not much in this one except for Blondie (Carol Markus) who just casually strips in front of Kirk to change into her uniform. But other than that, everything was fine. It was a movie which I spent 1/3 of it in awe, another 1/3 of it with sweats in my palms and the rest in tears because the relationship between characters were so beautiful.

I especially loved how the movie portrayed Spock to become more human and with more feelings. His explanation on the reason behind being so rational all the time and his fear of being so emotional gives the movie a nice human touch. I also enjoyed how Kirk and Spock interacted in the movie with Kirk having a little bit of Spock inside him and Spock having a bit of Kirk inside him. All in all, great movie with lots of action. Great job Abrams!

If you haven’t seen it yet, please do. Because if there’s one thing that tops sitting on your couch watching Game of Thrones, it’s watching Star Trek. It’s pretty amazing.

Leave a Reply

