READ: THE FIVE PEOPLE YOU MEET IN HEAVEN

When I read a book, I usually visualize the story in my head as I go along. I picture the whole scene and hear the voice in my head narrate the plot and the conversations. I have a semi-schizophrenic moment with myself, and it is a very satisfying feeling than I care to admit.

This book “The Five People You Meet in Heaven” is a book that I purchased a long time ago. I think maybe a little over 5 years? I never finished it. I read through it halfway and stopped. I don’t know why but it wasn’t appealing to me at that time I guess. But 5 years later, I find myself thoroughly enjoying the book, understanding the meaning of the story, realizing the lessons the author wanted to tell us. This book was a very short read, a little under 210 pages, written by Mitch Albom, the same author who wrote “Tuesdays with Morrie”. Continuing with his tradition of using ordinary stories to tell extraordinary tales, and little characters to teach life’s greatest lessons. In this book, you’ll follow the life story of Eddie the Maintenance at Ruby Piers, and his afterlife as he goes through the 5 stages in heaven meeting 5 seemingly irrelevant people.

I love how Albom also paints a heaven that is very different from what we used to picture it: white, glowy and luminescence. It’s a places that changes based on who you are in heaven, what you want to see, and where you wish to be. In my version of heaven, it would probably be a shore house facing the ocean or a lake house with a dock. Looking at the ocean just calms me and I can spend days looking at the waves and not get bored of it.

Another thing I like about this book is that there are so many great quotes in the book. Quotes about strangers are just family you have yet come to know, sacrifices sometimes are made for more amazing things to happen, or that holding grudges against people won’t help you get over the knot in your heart… There are all life lessons that Albom teaches you through this book, and they are definitely rules to live by. There are also many parts in the book that I felt deeply touched by. The part about Eddie’s father, the part where Eddie and Marguerite danced, the part where Eddie lost his foot, the part where Eddie reconciled with his mistake…

I definitely recommend this book if you’re looking for a quick read and some positive energy. I finished this book in less than 5 days and I was just reading it during my daily commutes. And when I was reading it, I can’t help but think how awesome it would be if this book was turned into a movie. Tom Hanks as Eddie, Rachael McAdams as Marguerite, Christopher Walken as Eddie’s father, maybe Helen Mirren as Ruby? This would be quite the cast…

I hope you do pick this up and give it a go. I’m sure you’ll like it as much as I do.

And if you read it, be sure to let me know if you liked it, and which part you liked the most!

Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

