Currently In Love With…

There are a few things that I enjoy in life, movies is definitely one of them. I love how a short film of 3 minutes can tell a story that touches your heart so delicately that sometimes you feel like someone out there knows and understands you.

I also love how movies is the synergy of music, lighting, motion and literature. It’s not just entertainment, it’s arguably the best form of human creativity. Of course, there’s the Hollywood where people make big bucks, live in monstrous mansions, drive fast cars and presumably have tiger blood (cue: Charlie Sheen), but at the end of the day, these people are (or once) talented people who do what they do best – creating art.

As much as Steven Spielberg likes to make huge commercial movies, he’s undeniably one of the best movie geniuses in the industry. His ideas, implementation, execution are impeccable. While we might think that Jurassic Park and E.T. are just stupid ideas now, they were probably the most creative concept that anyone could have come up with in the 90s. And I still quite like them to say the least!

With the internet being so ridiculously convenient nowadays, instead of going to the theater for movies, we shamelessly download them. Well to me, going to the theater for movies has always been something that I like to do, no matter how easy it is to pirate a movie. There is a sense of romanticism, nostalgia to it. Maybe I’m just a hopeless romantic, but sitting in the dark, watching other people tell their stories is a pretty amazing experience.

As a child, I’ve always been attracted to the picture box. I watch TV shows like no other. I would wake up in the morning just because a certain cartoon show is on and without that to start off my day, it just didn’t feel right. I guess, long before I had my caffeine addiction, I had my TV crack (ooops!).

And lately, I’ve rekindled my relationship with the movies and feel extremely inspired by these people: Wong Fu Productions.

The trio from Wong Fu Productions, Philip Wang, Ted Fu and Wesley Chan met in college and were quickly connected through a common interest in movies. It all started with Phil’s remake of Justin Timberlake’s “Seneorita” music video and the enthusiastic responses he got from viewers. Since then, the trio has been filming a lot more shorts and series and inspired viewers from all over the world. Their most famous short video, “Yellow Fever“, has attracted almost 2 million viewers. While many of their videos are about day-to-day topics like love, friendships, family, etc, they also do projects like music videos and promotional videos by collaborating with other youtube stars like David Choi, AJ Fafael, Far-East Movement and Alyssa Bernal.

But what inspires me the most is their down-to-earth attitude and positivity that they give out to people, which is exactly what the world needs right now – a little less negativity and a whole lot of love. I hope the trio can keep doing what they are doing now, and take their company to a whole new level. :)

Leave a Reply

