This Week!

Dear lovelies, I know I have sinned by virtually abandoning this blog for almost a month now. :/ But I’ve been great and hope you are too!

Last month was crazy. I finally finished work two weeks ago and spent a week in Shanghai for the World Expo 2010. Shanghai is a great city if you don’t already know that. It’s full of surprises. You can see old buildings mixed with the new. Historical sites hidden in modernized districts. It’s been a wonderful trip. I wish I could spend more time in Shanghai and its surrounding areas! I heard Hangzhou is a great place to visit, with its beautiful rivers and lakes.

The trip has completely changed my impression towards China. Before I went, I was under the impression that mainland China was still very backward and uncivilized (pardon me for being so blunt). But actually, it was way more civilized than I thought it would be. People were friendly, nice and polite. They were helpful in so many ways. People at the hotel were obviously trained and well prepared for tourists coming from all over the world. They could tell you where to go eat, where to visit and how to get there in a jiffy, with clear directions of course! The one thing I dread the most before I got to Shanghai were the washrooms. I’m sure if you know anyone who has been to China during the 90s, they could tell you right away how awful those washrooms can be, “a hole in the ground” they call it. But now, they have toilet bowls alongside with the “hole in the ground” for people to choose whichever one is best for them. I was very pleased by how tidy (relatively, and to be fair, it’s the World Expo, probably thousands of people use the washroom everyday) the washrooms are. People were in line (as they should be), and very patient even under the scorching sun.

The lines at the Expo were long as you would have expected. It took us nearly 3 hours to get into the more famous pavilions like France, Germany and Italy; others needed an hour at least. However, I would say it’s worth it. Italy and Germany Pavilion were wonderful. The only thing I thought was lacking was the air conditioning. But, you have to admit that the organizers did a great job at keeping people cool while they’re in line. They have these sprinklers installed at the top of the lining tent, and it goes off every 3-5 minutes or so. The water is not so strong that it makes you wet, but strong enough to achieve that cooling effect of a mist mixed up with the occasional summer breeze. So overall speaking, I wouldn’t say the Expo was perfect, but you got to give the Chinese some credit for it. In merely 10 years, they have proved to the world that they have what it takes to become one of the greatest world power/ economy. Hell, it has even overtaken Japan as the biggest economy in Asia. Who knows what China can do in the next 10 years.

And for Shanghai, Hong Kong better watch out, because this city is just coming on full steam!

Oh and lovelies, I’ll be spending my weekend in Taiwan, another beautiful country to visit. It’s been my fourth visit and I still haven’t seen enough of it! :) PS. I’m getting lots of bubble tea and good cheap food! Sounds like yum? I think so too!

See you all very soon! Have a great weekend too you all!

(via weheartit.com)

Leave a Reply

